It’s been great to see how much more time and effort is being invested into the creation of music videos here in Ireland of late, and a few I’ve come across recently have prompted this little friday post. Here are 5 of my current faves.

Slow Place Like Home – There Go the Lights Again (dir Jules Hackett)

this was released a month or so ago and I love the animation on it. I’ve always loved the movement in that Julian Opie installation and this plays with the magic nighttime possibilities in a great way.

Sean Mac Erlaine – Amhrán na Leabhar (dir Donal Dineen)

Beautiful piece of music, and a beautiful piece of film – very meditative all round.

Band of Clouds – In Need of Repair (dir John Haggis)

this is an older vid but a recent release of their Electric Picnic set (see the lovely live vid here) reminded me how much I loved this one.

The Villagers – Waves (dir Aidan Volney*)

This is relatively simple but really compelling, and I love the retro pyscho sci-fi feel

Mmoths – Over You (dir FeelGoodLost)

Brand new this one. Love MMoths so it’s great to see him being picked up by Annie Mac, and the FeelGoodLost boys do great work from Cork

*Possibly not irish, but the track is

